Skip to main content
HomeLL Montrose

The Activities of the League of Women Voters of Montrose County 

Voter Services
  • Assist with online voter registration
  • Host local candidate and ballot issue forums
  • Participate in statewide Voter Service and
  • Implement LWVCO EZ Grant for outreach to Millennial and Hispanic voters
  • Participate and plan vote registration drives for National Voter Registration Day, September 25
  • Host monthly presentations at the Montrose Library for the winter/spring months
  • Parade for the 98th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment
  • Instruct various student and community groups about voter registration and election information
Community & State
  • Share information locally from the LWVCO Strategic Task Force Local League Support Committee
  • Share information locally from LWVCO Redistricting Committee
  • Recipient of LWVCO EZ Grant
  • Raise funds through Horsefly Brewery's Community Tap Night
Our History

On February 14th, 1920, six months before the 19th amendment to the Constitution was ratified giving women the right to vote, the League of Women Voters was formed within the National American Woman Suffrage Association in states where woman suffrage had already been attained. While the original group included only women, men were invited to join the League beginning in 1974.

In 1983 a group of Montrose area women joined together to form a League of Women Voters unit in the county. Operating under a provisional status, they began working on the requirements needed to obtain full status - writing bylaws, making and publishing a county study, building a treasury and growing their membership. In 1987 they were recognized with full status.

In 2010, the Montrose County unit and the Delta County unit merged. The new LWV unit is known as the Montrose County unit.

2018-2019 Board

  • President Jan Edwards
  • State Liaison/Veep Gretchen Nicholoff
  • Secretary Nancy Ball
  • Treasurer Barb Krebs
  • At Large Board Member Cyndi Holman

Webmaster/Communications: Tanya Ishikawa Voter Service: Rod Britten, Jan Edwards, Barb Krebs LWVCO EZ Grant Millennial Voter Registration Committee Chair: Cheryl Gibson

Contact us at

Mail: League of Women Voters of Montrose County
Box 3321
Montrose, CO 81402

Follow us on Facebook at

Follow us on Instagram at VoteMontroseCo