

According to Article IX of the Bylaws of the League of Women Voters of Colorado, the Nominating Committee consists of five members: three non-Board members, elected by the statewide membership, and two current LWVCO Board members. The LWVCO Board President and Executive Director serve as ex officio non-voting members.

Members of the 2022-23 LWVCO Nominating Committee are:

- Lena Brown, Chair, LWVCO Board
- Sharon Davis, LWVCO Board
- Connie Fox, LWV Montezuma County
- Marjie Gray, LWV Chaffee County
- Vicky McLane, LWV Larimer County

According to Article VII of the Bylaws of the League of Women Voters of Colorado, Board members serve two-year terms that may be renewed by vote of the membership.

Two Board members are completing their first two-year terms of service:

- Chris Humphries, currently serving as co-Director of Voter Service, has graciously opted to serve another term; and
- Veniece Miller, currently serving as Secretary, is stepping down to attend law school.

The Nominating Committee met throughout the spring to recommend and discuss candidates for the single open seat vacated by Veniece on the LWVCO Board of Directors. Three candidates recommended by current Board or staff members were interviewed, and the Nominating Committee is recommending Danielle Young-Kombo, recommended by LWVCO Board member Anne McGihon.

Danielle is the mother of four teenage boys; she and her husband, an immigrant from the Democratic Republic of the Congo, own DK Global Consulting, an international business and political consulting service for investment and commerce in Africa. In 2018, she ran for the Colorado House of Representatives, becoming the first woman of color to win a Democratic primary election in House District 45 in Douglas County. She continued her work in Colorado politics by running for the U.S. Senate in 2019 and serving as the Women's Vote Director for the Colorado Coordinated Campaign in 2020 for the Biden-Harris ticket.

Danielle is currently serving as an At-Large Member of the Executive Committee for the CO-MT-WY NAACP State Conference and as the Vice President of the Colorado Black Women for Political Action.

The Nominating Committee is recommending current At-Large member Sterling Harris for the Secretary position.

## **IN SUMMARY**

The LWVCO Nominating Committee is asking statewide membership to vote on the following three (3) candidates and positions:

- 1. Chris Humphries for her 2<sup>nd</sup> two-year term as co-Director of Voter Service;
- 2. Danielle Young-Kombo for her 1<sup>st</sup> two-year term as an At-Large Director; and
- 3. Current At-Large member Sterling Harris for a one-year term as Secretary

Respectfully submitted,

Lena Brown Chair, LWVCO Nominating Committee <u>lenawilmoth@hotmail.com</u>