# LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS® OF COLORADO

# NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

## BOARD OF DIRECTORS, 2021-2022

### Officers:

President: Karen Sheek (2022) Cortez/Montezuma President Elect: Vacant, one year term Vice President: Barb Whinery (2022) Greeley-Weld Secretary: Irene Tynes (2022) Denver Treasurer: Bonnie Seals (2023) Returning

#### **Directors:**

Director-at large: Lena Brown (2022) Director-at-Large: Mandy Nuku (2022) Boulder Director, Local League Support: Lois Adams, (2022) Pueblo Director, Technology: Rionda Osman (2021) Director, Action and Advocacy: Toni Larsen (2022) Director, Voter Service: Gerry Cummins (2021) Director-At-Large: Beth Malmskog (2022) Pikes Peak Director-At-Large: CJ Larkin (2021) Denver Director-At-Large, Voter service (succession plan for Voter Service): Steve Coddington, (2022) Director, Fund Development: Unidentified

#### New and returning Board members, 2021-2023:

#### Treasurer: Bonnie Seals (2023) Returning

**Director at Large:** Chris Humphries. Strengths: Identifying barriers to participation in elections and in League. Passion and willingness to work. Denver LWV

**Director at Large:** Veniece Miller. Strengths: Youth engagement. Internships with Attorney General, Michael Bennet, International Law Institute

**Director at Large:** Camila Navarrette. Strengths: Works with Colorado Health Initiative. Strong communications-digital-multimedia skills. Passionate about fiscal reform.

**Director at Large:** Sharon Davis. Strengths: International perspective. International issue advocacy experience. Currently an international management consultant capable of both seeing the big picture and devising a way to reach the future goal. Larimer LWV

#### **CHANGES:**

Adjust president's term of office to reflect Karen's wishes, she completes a two-year term in 2022. No president-elect was identified.

#### No Fund Development director was identified.

#### CONSTITUTION OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE:

The terms of the two non-board members are ending in May. Both Connie Fox and Ruth Nerenberg are willing to return. Non-board member Chris Humphries has been recommended for the board, and so she would not be eligible to re-join the nominating committee next year as a non-member. Ruth would like not to chair this committee in 2021-23. A non-board committee member should be solicited from the membership, either at or before the Convention. We would like to know the board's decision concerning who should chair.

#### **RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE BOARD:**

- 1. We recommend that the board have a retreat as soon as possible, and as part of that retreat, new members be partnered with those serving a second term for help, advice, and mentoring.
- 2. We also recommend that this retreat include a discussion of board needs, so new members may find their place.
- 3. We recommend returning board members think about whether they would like to be president eventually, and volunteer for appointment as president elect, in accordance with bylaws and board policies for filling vacancies.
- 4. Because people do not have the background or are unavailable or unwilling to chair a large fundraiser as a volunteer, we recommend that the board hire an event planner for Leaders of Democracy, and that this person take into account that the size of the state precludes many local leagues from participating in a large single event held in person in Denver.
- 5. We recommend that a Development Director, either full or part time, be hired to spearhead fundraising events, search for grants, and devise other fundraising strategies.

#### Respectfully submitted,

Ruth Nerenberg, Nominating Committee Chair Connie Fox, non-board member Chris Humphries, non-board member Barbara Whinery, board member Beth Malmskog, board member